Skip to main content
Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 46
Tuesday, November 23, 2010

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met by videoconference at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen St., the Chair, David Sweet, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Bouchard, Peter Braid, Gordon Brown, Serge Cardin, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Hon. Dan McTeague, David Sweet, Dave Van Kesteren and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Ray Boughen for Mike Wallace, Roger Gaudet for Serge Cardin and John Rafferty for Brian Masse.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dillan Theckedath, Analyst; Adriane Yong, Analyst.


Witnesses: Mercer (Canada) Limited: Leigh Ann Bastien, Partner; Michel St-Germain, Actuary and Partner. Teamsters Canada: Phil Benson, Lobbyist. Federally Regulated Employers - Transportation and Communications (FETCO): Michael Boychuk, President, BIMCOR Inc.; John Farrell, Executive Director. Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals: Jean-Daniel Breton, Senior Vice-President, Ernst & Young Inc.; John McKenna, Chair, Corporate Practice Committee, PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.. Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada: Guy Caron, Director, Special Projects; Gaston Carrière, President, Local 142. Scotia Capital: Stephen Dafoe, Director, Corporate Bond Research. Insolvency Institute of Canada: Ronald B. Davis, Associate Professor of Law, University of British Columbia; Craig Hill, Co-Chair, Task Force on Pension Reform. Towers Watson: Karen Figueiredo, Member; Ian Markham, Senior Consulting Actuary. Canadian Bankers Association: Bill Kennedy, Vice-President, Special Loans; William Randle, Assistant General Counsel and Foreign Bank Secretary.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, May 26, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-501, An Act to amend the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and other Acts (pension protection).

John Farrell, Michael Boychuk, William Randle, Bill Kennedy, Craig Hill, Ronald B. Davis, Stephen Dafoe, John McKenna and Jean-Daniel Breton made statements and answered questions.


At 12:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Guy Caron, Gaston Carrière, Ian Markham, Phil Benson, Leigh Ann Bastien and Michel St-Germain made statements and, with Karen Figueiredo, answered questions.


At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Clerk of the Committee

2010/12/13 9:25 a.m.