Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Thursday, June 3, 2010

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 752, 131 Queen St., the Chair, the Hon. Michael D.Chong, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Bouchard, Peter Braid, Gordon Brown, Serge Cardin, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Brian Masse, Dave Van Kesteren and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Hon. John McKay for Hon. Dan McTeague, Massimo Pacetti for Hon. Dan McTeague and Pablo Rodriguez for Anthony Rota.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mathieu Frigon.


Witnesses: Department of Industry: Carl Cotton, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Division, Program Development Directorate, Measurement Canada; Alan Johnston, Measurement Canada; Sonia Roussy, Innovative Services Directorate, Measurement Canada; Gilles Vinet, Program Development Directorate, Measurement Canada.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, May 13, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-14, An Act to amend the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act and the Weights and Measures Act.

On motion of Mike Wallace, it was agreed, — That the witnesses be allowed to show a video after their 10 minute opening statement.


The witnesses made statements.


At 9:12 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses answered questions.


At 10:55 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michelle Tittley
Clerk of the Committee

2011/05/09 8:26 a.m.