Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Thursday, March 3, 2011

The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities met at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Candice Hoeppner, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Josée Beaudin, Kelly Block, Hon. Rick Casson, Raymonde Folco, Candice Hoeppner, Ed Komarnicki, Michael John Savage, Maurice Vellacott and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Chris Charlton for Tony Martin, Yvon Godin for Tony Martin, Scott Simms for Hon. Maria Minna and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Yves Lessard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sandra Gruescu, Analyst; André Léonard, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Bertrand Desrosiers, Senior Assistant, Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac, M.P.. Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN): Guy Martin, Coordinator, Legal Department. Mouvement Action-Chômage de Trois-Rivières: Catherine Gendron, Coordinator; Réal Labarre, Advisor. Conseil national des chômeurs et chômeuses: Yvon Bélanger, Spokesperson. LASTUSE du Saguenay: Sylvain Bergeron, Coordinator. Mouvement autonome et solidaire des sans-emploi (réseau québécois): Marie-Hélène Arruda, Coordinator.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, May 31, 2010, the Committee commenced its study of procedures and practices of the Employment Insurance Board of Referees.

Bertrand Desrosiers, Guy Martin and Catherine Gendron made statements and, with Réal Labarre, answered questions.


At 12:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Yvon Bélanger, Sylvain Bergeron and Marie-Hélène Arruda made statements and answered questions.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Committee Clerk

2011-03-17 11:27 a.m.