Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 54
Tuesday, March 8, 2011

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Acting Chair, Tim Uppal, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Josée Beaudin, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Ruby Dhalla, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Kirsty Duncan, Megan Anissa Leslie, Luc Malo, Tilly O'Neill-Gordon and Tim Uppal.


Acting Members present: Randy Hoback for Patricia Davidson and Bruce Stanton for Joy Smith.


Associate Members present: Malcolm Allen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst. House of Commons: Marie-France Renaud, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Animal Health Institute: Jean Szkotnicki, President; John Prescott, Representative, Professor, Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph. Canadian Cattlemen's Association: John Masswohl, Director, Government and International Relations; Reynold Bergen, Science Director, Beef Cattle Research Council. Canadian Pork Council: Dawn Lawrence, National Coordinator, CQA Program, Nova Scotia. Chicken Farmers of Canada: Mike Dungate, Executive Director; Leigh Rosengren, Representative, Rosengren Epidemiology Consulting. Environmental Defence: Rick Smith, Executive Director. Pew Charitable Trusts: Gail Hansen, Senior Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 15, 2011, the Committee commenced its study of antibiotics and livestock.

Jean Szkotnicki, John Prescott, John Masswohl, Dawn Lawrence, Mike Dungate, Rick Smith and Gail Hansen made statements and, with Reynold Bergen and Leigh Rosengren, answered questions.


At 5:22 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:23 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That when departmental officials appear before the Committee on Thursday, March 10, 2011, on Supplementary Estimates (C) 2010-11, they will also appear in relation to the study of antibiotics and livestock.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2011/03/09 4:18 p.m.