Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 29
Thursday, October 28, 2010

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met by videoconference at 8:53 a.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Raynald Blais, Ron Cannan, Rodger Cuzner, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Joyce Murray, Devinder Shory, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Aquaculture Industry Alliance: Ruth Salmon, Executive Director; Clare Backman, Sustainability Director, Marine Harvest Canada. Aboriginal Aquaculture Association : Richard Harry, President. As individuals: Hon. John Fraser, Chair of the former British Columbia Pacific Salmon Forum; Jon O'Riordan, Science Research Coordinator of the former British Columbia Pacific Salmon Forum.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 28, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of aquaculture in the Pacific region.

Ruth Salmon and Clare Backman made statements and answered questions.


At 9:52 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:57 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Richard Harry made a statement.


John Fraser and Jon O'Riordan, by videoconference from Burnaby, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 10:51 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2010/11/24 2:15 p.m.