Skip to main content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 16
Tuesday, May 25, 2010

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 9:42 a.m. this day, at Maison des Jeunes, Grande-Rivière, Québec, the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Scott Andrews, Raynald Blais, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Tilly O'Neill-Gordon and Rodney Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Conférence régionale des élu(e)s Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine: Gilbert Scantland, General Director. Association des crabiers gaspésiens inc.: Daniel Desbois, President. Listuguj Mi'gmaq Government: Delphine Metallic, Assistant Director, Natural Resources. Mouvement Action-Chômage Pabok Inc.: Gaétan Cousineau, Coordinator. Municipalité régionale de comté de Bonaventure: Gérard-Raymond Blais, Representative. Municipalité régionale de comté du Rocher Percé: Léo Lelièvre, Acting Reeve. As an individual: Ronald Hunt, Dockhand. Association des membres d'équipages des crabiers de la Gaspésie: Wilfrid Leblanc, President; Lorenzo Méthot, Secretary. Association des morutiers traditionnels de la Gaspésie: Marc Diotte, Representative. Regroupement des pêcheurs professionnels du sud de la Gaspésie: O'neil Cloutier, Director. Unipêche M.D.M. Ltée: Mireille Langlois, Plant Workers Representative; Linda Delarosbil, Plant Workers Representative.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 28, 2010, the Committee commenced its study of the snow crab industry in Atlantic Canada and Quebec.

Gilbert Scantland, Daniel Desbois, Delphine Metallic, Gaétan Cousineau, Gérard-Raymond Blais and Léo Lelièvre made a statement and answered questions.


At 11:11 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:28 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Ronald Hunt, Lorenzo Méthot, Marc Diotte, O'neil Cloutier, Mireille Langlois and Linda Delarosbil made a statement.


Ronald Hunt, Lorenzo Méthot, Marc Diotte, O'neil Cloutier and Mireille Langlois answered questions.


At 12:11 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/31 2:26 p.m.