Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Monday, May 10, 2010

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met by videoconference at 3:38 p.m. this day, in Room 752, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Rodney Weston, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Scott Andrews, Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Fin Donnelly, Randy Kamp, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Tilly O'Neill-Gordon, John Weston and Rodney Weston.


Acting Members present: Louis Plamondon for Yvon Lévesque.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Dalhousie University: Peter Tyedmers, Associate Professor, School for Resource and Environmental Studies, Faculty of Management. David Suzuki Foundation: David Lane, Executive Director, T. Buck Suzuki Environmental Foundation; John Werring, Aquatic Habitat Specialist, Marine and Freshwater Conservation Program; Michelle Molnar, Marine Researcher and Policy Analysis; Ruby Berry, Program Coordinator, Salmon Aquaculture, Georgia Strait Alliance. Marine Harvest Canada: Vincent Erenst, Managing Director; Clare Backman, Director, Sustainability. AgriMarine Industries Inc.: Robert Walker, Director of Canadian Operations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 28, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of aquaculture in the Pacific region.

Peter Tyedmers made a statement and answered questions.


David Lane, John Werring, Michelle Molnar and Ruby Berry, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made a statement and, with Robert Walker, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, answered questions.


At 4:43 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:46 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Vincent Erenst and Clare Backman made a statement and answered questions.


Robert Walker, by videoconference from Vancouver, British-Columbia, made a statement and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:38 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Travis Ladouceur
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/22 3:35 p.m.