Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 49
Monday, November 29, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Russ Hiebert, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte, Paul Szabo and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Hon. Michael D. Chong for Ted Menzies and Nicolas Dufour for Daniel Paillé.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst. House of Commons: David-Andrés Novoa, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: House of Commons: Hon. Albina Guarnieri, Mississauga East—Cooksville. Canada Revenue Agency: Cathy Hawara, Director General, Charities Directorate, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch. Department of Finance: Sharmila Khare, Chief, Personal Income Tax Division. Canada Revenue Agency: Bryan McLean, Director, Policy, Planning and Legislation Division, Charities Directorate, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch. Department of Finance: Baxter Williams, Acting General Director (Analysis), Tax Policy Branch.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 21, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-470, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (revocation of registration).

Hon. Albina Guarnieri made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:26 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Baxter Williams and Cathy Hawara made statements and, with Bryan Mclean, answered questions.


At 5:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2011/03/09 8:58 a.m.