Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, June 1, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Russ Hiebert, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, Daniel Paillé, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Associate Members present: Cathy McLeod.


Other Members present: Yves Lessard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Julie-Anne Macdonald, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: House of Commons: André Bellavance, Richmond—Arthabaska; Louis Plamondon, Bas-Richelieu—Nicolet—Bécancour. Bloc Québécois: Jean-David Beaulieu, Researcher, Bloc Québécois Research Bureau; Odile Rochon, Researcher. Regroupement des retraité(es) des Aciers Atlas: Pierre St-Michel, President; Diane Blanchard, Secretary. Association des retraités d'Asbestos Inc.: Gaston Fréchette, President, Sous-comité des retraités et travailleurs encore actifs de Mine Jeffrey; René Langlois, Secretary, Sous-comité des retraités et travailleurs encore actifs de Mine Jeffrey. Fédération des associations de retraités du Québec: Jacques Beaudoin, President. As an individual: Malcolm Hamilton.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 3, 2010, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-290, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (tax credit for loss of retirement income).

André Bellavance and Louis Plamondon made statements and, with Jean-David Beaulieu, answered questions.


At 4:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:15 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:21 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/06/02 12:08 p.m.