Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Thursday, May 27, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met by videoconference at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 853, 131 Queen St., the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Russ Hiebert, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Daniel Paillé, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Nicolas Dufour for Robert Carrier, Nicolas Dufour for Daniel Paillé, Hon. Mark Eyking for Hon. John McCallum and Wayne Marston for Thomas J. Mulcair.


Associate Members present: John Weston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Julie-Anne Macdonald, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: As individuals: Keith P. Ambachtsheer, Director, Rotman International Centre for Pension Management; Daniel Béland, Canada Research Chair in Public Policy, Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Saskatchewan. Rights For Nortel Disabled Employees: Arlene Borenstein, Representative. As an individual: Edward Whitehouse, Head of Pension Policy Analysis, Social Policy Division, Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 9, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of the Retirement Income Security of Canadians.

Daniel Béland, Arlene Borenstein, Keith P. Ambachtsheer by videconference from Toronto (Canada) and Edward Whitehouse by videoconference from Paris (France) made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/28 4:26 p.m.