Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Tuesday, May 4, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 853, 131 Queen St., the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Russ Hiebert, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, Daniel Paillé, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Bonnie Crombie for Hon. John McCallum, Ruby Dhalla for Hon. John McKay, Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McKay and Hon. Geoff Regan for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Julie-Anne Macdonald, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Jane Pearse, Director, Financial Institutions Division; Will Kendall, Economist, Strategic Planning and Trade, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Sandra Dunn, Chief, Financial Sector Stability. Department of Transport: Katherine Moynihan, Director, Portfolio Management, Crown Corporation Governance - ADC. Department of Natural Resources: Cécile Cléroux, Assistant Deputy Minister, AECL Restructuring; Jean-Frédéric Lafaille, Policy Director, AECL Review - CANDU; Jenifer Aitken, Senior Counsel, Legal Services; Terry Hubbard, Director of Policy, Major Projects Management Office. Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission: Jason K. Cameron, Director General, Strategic Planning Directorate, Regulatory Affairs. National Energy Board: Robert Steedman, Professional Leader, Environment.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 19, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-9, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 4, 2010 and other measures.

The witnesses answered questions.


At 4:25 p.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/05 1:07 p.m.