Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Tuesday, April 27, 2010

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 10:01 a.m. this day, in Room 200, West Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Robert Carrier, Bernard Généreux, Russ Hiebert, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, Daniel Paillé, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Associate Members present: Martha Hall Findlay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Patrick Halley, Chief, Tariffs and Market Acess, International Trade and Finance; Tom McGirr, Chief, Equalization and Policy Development; Carol Nelder-Corvari, Director, International Trade Policy Division; Rambod Behboodi, General Counsel, General Legal Services. Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: John Drummond, Director, Softwood Lumber Controls.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 19, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-9, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 4, 2010 and other measures.

The witnesses answered questions.


At 10:43 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:32 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/04/30 9:43 a.m.