Skip to main content
Start of content

FEWO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 51
Friday, January 21, 2011

The Standing Committee on the Status of Women met at 8:06 a.m. this day, in the Quartz Ballroom A and B, Matrix Hotel, Edmonton, Alberta, Dona Cadman, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dona Cadman, Nicole Demers, Hon. Hedy Fry, Nina Grewal and Hon. Anita Neville.


Associate Members present: Jean Crowder.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Julie Cool, Analyst; Laura Munn-Rivard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Edmonton Police Service: Nancy Leake, Criminal Intelligence Analyst, Serious Crimes Branch; Bill Spinks, Inspector, Serious Crime Branch; S/Sgt Mike Bartkus, Domestic Offender Crimes Section. Awo Taan Healing Lodge Society: Josie Nepinak, Executive Director. Metis Child and Family Services Society: Donald Langford, Executive Director; Kari Thomason, Community Outreach Worker. Little Warriors: Jo-Anne Hansen, Representative. As an individual: Jo-Anne Fiske, Professor of Women's Studies, University of Lethbridge. Memorial March for Missing and Murdered Women Calgary: Suzanne Dzus, Founder and Chairperson. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: C/Supt Mike Sekela, Criminal Operations Officer, "D" Division. Stolen Sisters Awareness Walk and Movement: April Eve P. Wiberg, Founder; Gloria Neapetung, Representative. As individuals: Sandra Lambertus, Author; Jennifer Koshan, Professor, University of Calgary. Institute for the Advancement of Aboriginal Women: Muriel E. Stanley Venne, President & Founder.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, March 8, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of violence against Aboriginal women.

By unanimous consent, Dona Cadman took the Chair.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 9:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:12 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:30 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:09 p.m., Hedy Fry took the Chair.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/08 11:11 a.m.