Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Monday, November 15, 2010

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Scott Armstrong, James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Steven Blaney, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Colin Carrie for Stephen Woodworth, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh for Joyce Murray and Alan Tonks for Gerard Kennedy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Kristen E. Courtney, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Shipping Federation of Canada: Michael Broad, President; Anne Legars, Director, Policy and Government Affairs. Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers: Tom Huffaker, Vice-President, Policy and Environment; Shawn Denstedt, Partner, Litigation, Osler, Hoskin, and Harcourt LLP. Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Johan van't Hof, Chief Executive Officer, Tonbridge Power Inc.; Warren Everson, Senior Vice-President, Policy.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 16, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-469, An Act to establish a Canadian Environmental Bill of Rights.

Michael Broad, Tom Huffaker, Warren Everson and Johan van't Hof made statements and, with Anne Legars and Shawn Denstedt, answered questions.


At 5:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 5:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2010/12/16 2:26 p.m.