Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 30
Monday, November 1, 2010

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Olivia Chow, Rick Dykstra, Nina Grewal, Robert Oliphant, Thierry St-Cyr, David Tilson, Justin Trudeau, Tim Uppal, Alice Wong and Borys Wrzesnewskyj.


Acting Members present: Nicole Demers for Josée Beaudin and Tilly O'Neill-Gordon for Terence Young.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daphne Keevil Harrold, Analyst; Anna Gay, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Jason Kenney, P.C., M.P., Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism.


Witnesses: Canadian Bar Association: Tamra L. Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform; Chantal Arsenault, Chair, National Citizenship and Immigration Law Section; Michael A. Greene, Member, National Citizenship and Immigration Law Section. As an individual: Stéphane Handfield, Lawyer. Law Society of Upper Canada: Malcolm Heins, Chief Executive Officer; Laurie Pawlitza, Treasurer; Sheena Weir, Manager, Government Relations. Department of Citizenship and Immigration: Les Linklater, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Program Policy; Sandra Harder, Acting Director General, Immigration Branch; Brenna MacNeil, Director, Social Policy and Programs; Elaine Ménard, Legal Counsel, Legal Services.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, September 23, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Tamra L. Thomson, Chantal Arsenault, Michael A. Greene, Laurie Pawlitza and Stéphane Handfield made statements and, with Malcolm Heins and Sheena Weir, answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The Minister made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julie Lalande Prud'homme
Clerk of the Committee

2010/11/04 12:11 p.m.