Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Monday, October 25, 2010

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen St., the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Nina Grewal, Robert Oliphant, Thierry St-Cyr, David Tilson, Justin Trudeau, Tim Uppal, Alice Wong, Borys Wrzesnewskyj and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Nicolas Dufour for Josée Beaudin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Daphne Keevil Harrold, Analyst; Anna Gay, Analyst.


Witnesses: IMMFunds-IMMFonds Inc.: Holly L. Gracey, Chair; John Ryan, Member, Board of Directors. Mennonite Central Committee Canada: William Janzen, Consultant. As individuals: Maria Yvonne Javier; Lorne Waldman, Immigration Lawyer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, September 23, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

It was agreed, — That in relation to the study of Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, the proposed budget in the amount of $ 37,050, be adopted.


Lorne Waldman and Maria Yvonne Javier made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.


It was agreed, — That all the responses to the commitments made by witnesses during the consideration of Bill C-35 be submitted to the Clerk by Friday, October 29, 2010.


Holly L. Gracey and William Janzen made a statement and, with John Ryan, answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julie Lalande Prud'homme
Clerk of the Committee

2010/10/27 10:04 a.m.