Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 18
Tuesday, May 25, 2010

The Standing Committee on International Trade met by videoconference at 3:40 p.m. this day, in Room 853, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Lee Richardson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Hon. Scott Brison, Ron Cannan, Claude Guimond, Ed Holder, Peter Julian, Gerald Keddy, Jean-Yves Laforest, Lee Richardson, Mario Silva and Brad Trost.


Acting Members present: Laurie Hawn for Ed Holder.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Holden, Analyst; Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst.


Witnesses: University of Warwick: James Harrison, Associate Professor, School of Law. As individuals: Dawn Paley, Journalist; Nazih Richani, Professor; Steven Shrybman, Partner, Sack Goldblatt Mitchell.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 19, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act to implement the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Colombia, the Agreement on the Environment between Canada and the Republic of Colombia and the Agreement on Labour Cooperation between Canada and the Republic of Colombia.

James Harrison, by videoconference from Coventry, England, Nazih Richani, by videoconference from New York and Dawn Paley, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Colombia, made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Steven Shrybman made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee

2010/05/26 9:22 a.m.