Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 30
Thursday, November 18, 2010

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen St., the Chair, the Hon. Michael D. Chong, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Charlie Angus, Scott Armstrong, Patrick Brown, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Dean Del Mastro, Royal Galipeau, Carole Lavallée, Roger Pomerleau, Blake Richards, Pablo Rodriguez and Scott Simms.


Acting Members present: Ruby Dhalla for Bonnie Crombie and Russ Hiebert for Royal Galipeau.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission: Konrad W. von Finckenstein, Chairman; Rita Cugini, Acting Vice-Chair, Broadcasting; Scott Hutton, Executive Director, Broadcasting. Stornoway Communications: Martha Fusca, President. Independent Broadcasters Group: Bill Roberts, President and Chief Executive Officer, ZoomerMedia Limited, Television Division; Monique Lafontaine, Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, ZoomerMedia Limited; Suzanne Gouin, President and Chief Executive Officer, TV5 Québec Canada; Joel Fortune, Barrister and Solicitor, Joel R Fortune Professional Corporation. Newcap Inc.: Mike Keller, Vice-President, Industry Affairs, Newcap Broadcasting (Jim Pattison Group).

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, October 21, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of the impacts of private television ownership changes and the move towards new viewing platforms.

Konrad W. von Finckenstein and Rita Cugini made statements and, with Scott Hutton, answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Martha Fusca, Bill Roberts and Suzanne Gouin made statements and, with Joel Fortune and Monique Lafontaine, answered questions.


Mike Keller made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2010/12/06 10:48 a.m.