Skip to main content Start of content

CC32 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 7
Wednesday, December 8, 2010

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-32 met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Gordon Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Charlie Angus, Sylvie Boucher, Peter Braid, Gordon Brown, Serge Cardin, Dean Del Mastro, Marc Garneau, Daryl Kramp, Mike Lake, Carole Lavallée, Hon. Dan McTeague and Pablo Rodriguez.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dara Lithwick, Analyst; Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Alliance of Student Associations: Zachary Dayler, National Director; Spencer Keys, Government Relations Officer. Entertainment Software Association of Canada: Danielle Parr, Executive Director; Jason Kee, Director, Policy and Legal Affairs. Association of Canadian Publishers: Carolyn Wood, Executive Director; Grace Westcott, Legal Counsel. Barreau du Québec: Marc Sauvé, Director, Research Services and Legislation; Georges Azzaria, Professor, Laval University; Pierre-Emmanuel Moyse, Professor, McGill University. Canadian Council of Chief Executives: Hon. John Manley, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, November 5, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Copyright Act.

Zachary Dayler and Danielle Parr made statements and, with Spencer Keys and Jason Kee, answered questions.


At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Carolyn Wood, Hon. John Manley, Marc Sauvé, Pierre Emmanuel Moyse and Georges Azzaria made statements and, with Grace Westcott, answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Committee Clerk

2010/12/09 4:18 p.m.