Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Thursday, February 3, 2011

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, France Bonsant, Hon. Wayne Easter, Hon. Mark Eyking, Randy Hoback, Pierre Lemieux, Larry Miller, Blake Richards, Bev Shipley, Brian Storseth and Francis Valeriote.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Analyst.


Witnesses: University of Florida: Andrew Schmitz, Professor, Food and Resource Economics Department. Réseau québécois contre les organismes génétiquement modifiés (OGM): André Nault, Representative; Éric Darier, Quebec representative, Greenpeace. Saskatchewan Pulse Growers: Kofi Agblor, Director of Research. As an individual: Richard Gold, Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, November 16, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of the biotechnology industry.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:53, Mark Eyking took the Chair.


At 11:59, Larry Miller took the Chair.


At 12:47 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:48 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 12:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


David-Andrés Novoa
Clerk of the Committee

2011/02/04 11:27 a.m.