Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Thursday, November 18, 2010

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 8:47 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: André Bellavance, France Bonsant, Hon. Wayne Easter, Hon. Mark Eyking, Pierre Lemieux, Larry Miller, Blake Richards, Brian Storseth and Francis Valeriote.


Acting Members present: Malcolm Allen for Alex Atamanenko, Kelly Block for Bev Shipley and Ben Lobb for Randy Hoback.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Analyst. House of Commons: Carmen DePape, Procedural Clerk.


Appearing: Hon. Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.


Witnesses: Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Pierre Corriveau, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management; John Knubley, Deputy Minister; Greg Meredith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Rita Moritz, Assistant Deputy Minister, Farm Financial Programs Branch. Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Stephen Baker, Vice-President, Finance, Administration and Information Technology; Martine Dubuc, Vice-President, Science; Paul Mayers, Associate Vice-President, Programs; Cameron Prince, Vice-President, Operations; Carole Swan, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2010-2011: Vote 1b, 5b, 10b, 30b and 35b under AGRICULTURE AND AGRI-FOOD referred to the Committee on Thursday, November 4, 2010.

The Chair called Vote 1b under AGRICULTURE AND AGRI-FOOD.


The Minister made a statement and with Paul Mayers answered questions.


At 9:55 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:59 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Greg Meredith, Rita Moritz, Paul Mayers and Martine Dubuc answered questions.


At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chloé O'Shaughnessy
Clerk of the Committee

2010/12/16 11:53 a.m.