Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 8:51 a.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen St., the Chair, Larry Miller, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, France Bonsant, Hon. Wayne Easter, Hon. Mark Eyking, Randy Hoback, Pierre Lemieux, Larry Miller, Blake Richards, Bev Shipley, Brian Storseth and Francis Valeriote.


Acting Members present: Merv Tweed for Brian Storseth.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Analyst; Aïcha Coulibaly, Analyst. House of Commons: Carmen DePape, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Genome Prairie: Wilfred A. Keller, President. Interlake Forage Seeds Ltd: Paul Gregory, President. Canada Organic Trade Association: Matthew Holmes, Executive Director. University of Saskatchewan: Peter W.B. Phillips, Professor, Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 14, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-474, An Act respecting the Seeds Regulations (analysis of potential harm).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:33 a.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 10:36 a.m., the Committee resumed sitting in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chloé O'Shaughnessy
Clerk of the Committee

2010/10/18 10:14 a.m.