Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Tuesday, April 21, 2009

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Merv C. Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Sukh Dhaliwal, Roger Gaudet, Brian Jean, Gerard Kennedy, Mario Laframboise, Colin Mayes, Merv C. Tweed, Hon. Joseph Volpe and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Royal Galipeau for Lois Brown, Cheryl Gallant for Candice Hoeppner and Andrew Kania for Gerard Kennedy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst; Allison Padova, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Mark Gauthier, General Counsel, Legal Services; Guylaine Roy, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy; Jerry Rysanek, Executive Director, International Marine Policy and Liability; Donald Roussel, Director General, Marine Safety.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, March 30, 2009, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Marine Liability Act and the Federal Courts Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Guylaine Roy, Jerry Rysanek and Mark Gauthier made statements and, along with Donald Roussel, answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Gerard Kennedy, it was agreed, — That the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities be invited to stay for the whole meeting at his next appearance before the Committee.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Maxime Ricard
Clerk of the Committee

2009/04/22 2:20 p.m.