Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Tuesday, April 21, 2009

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 9:04 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Garry Breitkreuz, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Jack Harris, Mark Holland, Andrew Kania, Dave MacKenzie, Phil McColeman, Rick Norlock, Robert Oliphant, Brent Rathgeber and Blake Richards.


Acting Members present: Rob Clarke for Rick Norlock, Don Davies for Jack Harris, Carole Lavallée for Serge Ménard, Luc Malo for Maria Mourani and Gary Ralph Schellenberger for Dave MacKenzie.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst; Tanya Dupuis, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness: Mary E. Campbell, Director General, Corrections and Criminal Justice Directorate; Clifford Yumansky, Director, Corrections and Community Development. Department of Justice: Douglas Hoover, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Kate Lines, Chief Superintendent, Ontario Provincial Police; David Truax, Superintendent, Ontario Provincial Police. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Pierre Nezan, Officer in Charge, National Sex Offender Registry; Leo O'Brien, Officer in Charge, Behavioural Sciences Branch; William J.S. Elliott, Commissioner; Darrell Madill, Deputy Commissioner, Community, Contract and Aboriginal Policing Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and Section 21.1 of the Sex Offender Information Registry Act, the Committee commenced the statutory review of the Act.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:04 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, March 31, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of the taser.

William J.S. Elliott made a statement and, with Darrell Madill, answered questions.


At 11:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Roger Préfontaine
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/01 9:37 a.m.