Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 52
Monday, December 7, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a televised videoconference session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Ed Fast, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Marc Lemay, Serge Ménard, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Rick Norlock, Daniel Petit, Brent Rathgeber and Stephen Woodworth.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst; Cynthia Kirkby, Analyst.


Witnesses: Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Supt Dean Buzza, Director, Integrated Market Enforcement Team; Stephen White, Acting Commissioner, Director General, Financial Crime; Stephen Foster, Director, Commercial Crime Branch. Government of New Brunswick: Hon. Michael B. Murphy, Attorney General, Minister of Justice and Consumer Affairs. Canadian Bar Association: Suzanne Costom, Executive Member, National Criminal Justice Section; Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer, Legislation and Law Reform Directorate. Department of Finance: David Murchison, Director, Securities Policies, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Manuel Dussault, Chief, Securities Policy Division; Joan Monahan, Counsel. As an individual: L.S. (Al) Rosen, Accountability Research Corporation.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, October 26, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-52, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (sentencing for fraud).

Stephen White made a statement and, with Supt Dean Buzza, answered questions.


At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Hon. Michael Murphy, Gaylene Schellenberg, Suzanne Costom and David Murchison made statements and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2010/02/11 1:52 p.m.