Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 40th Parliament   2e session, 40e législature

Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights   Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne
Meeting No. 18 Séance no 18
Thursday, April 30, 2009 Le jeudi 30 avril 2009
2:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. 14 h 30 à 20 heures
Vancouver, B.C.   Vancouver, C.-B.
Four Seasons Hotel   Hôtel Four Seasons
791 West Georgia Street   791 rue West Georgia
604-689-9333   604-689-9333

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Study on the State of Organized Crime Étude sur l'état du crime organisé
Witnesses Témoins
2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. 14 h 30 à 16 heures
Law Enforcement Against Prohibition Law Enforcement Against Prohibition
John Shavluk John Shavluk
BC Civil Liberties Association Association des libertés civiles de la Colombie-Britanique
Kirk Tousaw, Board Member
Chair, Drug Policy Committee
 Kirk Tousaw, membre de la Commission
Président, Comité sur les politiques de drogues,
As individuals À titre personnel
Mani Amar, Filmmaker Mani Amar, cinéaste
Tony Helary Tony Helary
(In Camera) (À huis clos)
4:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. 16 heures à 16 h 30
(Public) (Publique)
4:45 p.m. to 6:45 p.m. 16 h 45 à 18 h 45
City of Surrey Ville de Surrey
Dianne L. Watts, Mayor Dianne L. Watts, mairesse
City of Vancouver Ville de Vancouver
Gregor Robertson, Mayor Gregor Robertson, maire
City of Langley Ville de Langley
Peter Fassbender, Mayor Peter Fassbender, maire
Metro Vancouver Metro Vancouver
Lois E. Jackson, Mayor of the Corporation of Delta
Chair of the Board of Directors, Mayors' Committee
 Lois E. Jackson, mairesse de la Corporation of Delta
Présidente du Conseil d'administration, Comité des maires
Corporation of Delta Corporation of Delta
Jim Cessford, Chief Constable Jim Cessford, chef de police
Surrey Board of Trade Chambre de commerce de Surrey
Ray Hudson
Policy Development and Communication
 Ray Hudson
Perfectionnement et communication pour l'élaboration des politiques
Kelowna Chamber of Commerce Chamber de commerce de Kelowna
Weldon LeBlanc, Chief Executive Officer Weldon LeBlanc, directeur général
Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce
Shannon Renault, Manager
Policy Development and Communications
 Shannon Renault, directrice
Élaboration de politiques et de la communication
As an individual À titre personnel
Darryl Plecas, Royal Canadian Mounted Police Research Chair and Director of the Centre for Criminal Justice Research
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University College of the Fraser Valley
 Darryl Plecas, titulaire de la chaire de recherche sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et directeur du Centre de recherche en matière de justice pénale
École de criminologie et de justice pénale, Collège universitaire de la vallée du Fraser
Royal Canadian Mounted Police Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Supt Janice Armstrong
City of Langley
 Surint. Janice Armstrong
Ville de Langley
Surrey Fire Services Services d'incendie de Surrey
Len Garis, Chief Len Garis, chef
7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. 19 heures à 20 heures
As individuals À titre personnel
Ken Rafuse Ken Rafuse
Michèle Holifield Michèle Holifield
Bert Holifield Bert Holifield
Elli Holifield Elli Holifield
Colin Eves Colin Eves
La greffière du Comité
Miriam Burke (613-996-1553)
Clerk of the Committee
2009/04/29 1:57 p.m.   2009/04/29 13 h 57