Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 18
Thursday, April 30, 2009

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 2:35 p.m. this day, in the ARBUTUS Room, Four Seasons Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia, the Chair, Ed Fast, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Joe Comartin, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Ed Fast, Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy and Brent Rathgeber.


Associate Members present: Nina Grewal, Andrew Saxton, John Weston and Alice Wong.


Other Members present: Sukh Dhaliwal and Joyce Murray.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Supt Janice Armstrong, City of Langley. City of Surrey: Dianne L. Watts, Mayor. City of Langley: Peter Fassbender, Mayor. City of Vancouver: Gregor Robertson, Mayor. Metro Vancouver: Lois E. Jackson, Mayor of the Corporation of Delta, Chair of the Board of Directors, Mayors' Committee. Surrey Board of Trade: Ray Hudson, Policy Development and Communication. Surrey Fire Services: Len Garis, Chief. Corporation of Delta: Jim Cessford, Chief Constable. Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce: Shannon Renault, Manager, Policy Development and Communications. Kelowna Chamber of Commerce: Weldon LeBlanc, Chief Executive Officer. Law Enforcement Against Prohibition (LEAP): John Shavluk. BC Civil Liberties Association: Kirk Tousaw, Board Member, Chair, Drug Policy Committee. Association of Justice Counsel: Marco Mendicino, Acting President. As individuals: Darryl Plecas, Royal Canadian Mounted Police Research Chair and Director of the Centre for Criminal Justice Research, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University College of the Fraser Valley; Mani Amar, Filmmaker; Deen Doung; Tony Helary; Michèle Holifield; Bert Holifield; Elli Holifield; Ken Rafuse.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 9, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on the State of Organized Crime.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:14 p.m., the Committee proceeded to hear unnamed witnesses in camera.


At 4:51 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 6:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 8:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/14 10:03 a.m.