Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Tuesday, February 24, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Carol Hughes for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Associate Members present: Carol Hughes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Intern.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Neil Maxwell, Assistant Auditor General; Glenn Wheeler, Principal; Louise Dubé, Principal. Department of Health: Karen Dodds, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Janice E. Dyer, Director General, Applied Research and Analysis Directorate, Strategic Policy Branch. Department of Finance: Monika Bertrand, Chief, Federal-Provincial Relations Division, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 12, 2009, the Committee commenced its study of Chapters 1 and 8 of the Report of the Auditor General of Canada of December 2008 - Matters of Special Importance

Neil Maxwell made an opening statement and, with Louise Dubé, answered questions.


Karen Dodds made an opening statement and, with Janice E. Dyer and Monika Bertrand, answered questions.


At 5:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:13 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/03/06 9:52 a.m.