Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Wednesday, November 4, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met by videoconference at 3:26 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Albina Guarnieri for Joyce Murray, Carol Hughes for Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Jean-Yves Laforest for Luc Malo, Hon. Keith Martin for Hon. Carolyn Bennett and Alexandra Mendes for Hon. Carolyn Bennett.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Diane Bergeron, Guide Dog User. Allergy/Asthma Information Association: Mary Allen, Chief Executive Officer. Public Health Agency of Canada: David Butler-Jones, Chief Public Health Officer; Elaine Chatigny, Director General, Communications. Canadian Lung Association: Jill Frigon, Registered Nurse, Health Initiatives Coordinator; Jennifer Schenkel, Director, Communications. Canadian Thoracic Society: Robert Schellenberg, Head, Division of Allergy and Immunology, Department of Medicine, University of British Columbia; Thomas Kovesi, Pediatric Respirologist, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario. Canadian Transportation Agency: Joan MacDonald, Director General, Dispute Resolution Branch; Mary-Jane Gravelle, Director, Accessible Transportation Directorate. Department of Health: Shelagh Jane Woods, Director General, Primary Health Care and Public Health Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on airline policy to allow small pets on passenger Cabins.

Diane Bergeron, Mary Allen, Jennifer Schenkel, Robert Schellenberg, Thomas Kovesi, Joan MacDonald and Mary-Jane Gravelle made statements and answered questions, including Jill Frigon by videoconference from Ottawa, Ontario.


At 4:46 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:50 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, August 12, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of H1N1 preparedness and response.

Shelagh Jane Woods, David Butler-Jones and Elaine Chatigny made statements and answered questions.


At 5:22 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:22 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Chair be authorized to purchase an official gift on behalf of the Committee for its meeting with the study group of senior governmental officials from the Russian Presidential Administration on Thursday, November 5, 2009.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/08 11:35 a.m.