Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 39
Monday, October 26, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met by videoconference at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 214, Wellington Building, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Oliphant for Joyce Murray.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Karin Phillips, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Public Health Agency of Canada: David Butler-Jones, Chief Public Health Officer; Robert Pless, Program Director, Canadian Field Epidemiology Program. Department of Health: Elwyn Griffiths, Director General, Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch. GlaxoSmithKline Canada: Paul N. Lucas, President and Chief Executive Officer. Sanofi Pasteur: Rob Van Exan, Director, Immunization Policy. Vaccination Risk Awareness Network Inc.: Susan Fletcher, Researcher and Board Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, August 12, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of H1N1 preparedness and response.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions, including Susan Fletcher by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/07 1:26 p.m.