Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 38
Wednesday, October 21, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:39 p.m. this day, in Room 214, Wellington Building, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Keith Martin for Hon. Carolyn Bennett and Francis Valeriote for Joyce Murray.


Associate Members present: Carol Hughes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Samuel Godefroy, Director General, Food Directorate; Hasan Hutchinson, Director General, Office of Nutrition Policy and Promotion; Paul Gully, Senior Medical Advisor. Public Health Agency of Canada: Kim Elmslie, Director General, Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control; Danielle Grondin, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Infectious Disease and Emergency Preparedness Branch; Elaine Chatigny, Director General, Communications.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed a briefing on sodium consumption in the Canadian diet.

Samuel Godefroy, Hasan Hutchinson and Kim Elmslie made statements and answered questions.


At 4:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, August 12, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of H1N1 preparedness and response.

Danielle Grondin, Elaine Chatigny and Paul Gully made statements and answered questions.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/07 1:15 p.m.