Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Friday, August 28, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met a in a televised session at 1:01 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joy Smith and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Gordon Clarke for Patrick Brown, Marcel Proulx for Joyce Murray and Mike Wallace for Tim Uppal.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst. House of Commons: Bonnie Charron, Procedural Clerk.


Appearing: Hon. Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health.


Witnesses: Public Health Agency of Canada: David Butler-Jones, Chief Public Health Officer. Department of Health: Shelagh Jane Woods, Director General, Primary Health and Public Health Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch. Assembly of First Nations: Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, National Chief. World Health Organization: Paul Gully, Senior Advisor to the Assistant Director-General, Health, Security and Environment. Assembly of First Nations: Kimberley Barker, Public Health Advisor. Government of Manitoba: Joel Kettner, Chief Public Health Officer. Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs: Ron Evans, Grand Chief; Glen Sanderson, Senior Policy Analyst. Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami: Gail Turner, Chair, National Inuit Committee on Health; Elizabeth Ford, Director, Department of Health and Environment. Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak: Sydney Garrioch, Grand Chief; Kevin Carlson. Prince Albert Grand Council: Don Deranger, Vice Chief; Bart Tannsie, Chief, Hatchet Lake First Nation; Ryan Sanderson, Pandemic Coordinator, Health and Social Development. Fond du Lac First Nation: Albert Mercredi, Chief. Athabasca Health Authority: Vince Robillard, Chief Executive Officer. Garden River First Nation: Pamela Nolan, Director, Health and Social Services, Wellness Centre; Maxine Lesage, Supervisor, Health Services, Wellness Centre. Wasagamack First Nation: Jerry Knott, Chief; Joseph Richard Harper, Assistant Health Director.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the supplementary budget in the amount of $33,100 for the study on H1N1 Preparedness and Response be approved.


At 1:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:06 p.m., the Committee resumed in public.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, August 12, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of H1N1 Preparedness and Response.

The Minister made a statement and, with David Butler-Jones and Shelagh Jane Woods, answered questions.


At 2:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Shawn Atleo, Joel Kettner, Ron Evans, Gail Turner, Sydney Garrioch and Don Deranger made statements and answered questions.


At 3:44 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:47 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Albert Mercredi, Pamela Nolan and Jerry Knott made statements and, with Vince Robillard and Maxine Lesage, answered questions.


David Butler-Jones made a statement and, with Shelagh Jane Woods and Paul Gully, answered questions.


At 5:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Committee Clerk

2009/10/30 2:54 p.m.