Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Tuesday, June 9, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: France Bonsant for Luc Malo and Hon. Bryon Wilfert for Hon. Carolyn Bennett.


Associate Members present: Greg Rickford.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst; Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Paul Glover, Assistant Deputy Minister, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch; Cathy Sabiston, Director General, Controlled Substances and Tobacco Directorate; Denis Choinière, Director, Office of Regulations and Compliance, Tobacco Control Program; Diane Labelle, General Counsel, Legal Services Unit. Canadian Cancer Society: Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst, National Public Issues Office. Non-Smokers' Rights Association: Melodie Tilson, Director of Policy. Physicians for a Smoke-Free Canada: Neil E. Collishaw, Research Director; Sam McKibbon, Campaigner, Flavour...GONE.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 3, 2009, the Committee commence consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Tobacco Act.

Paul Glover made an opening statement and with, Denis Choinière and Cathy Sabiston, answered questions.


At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.


It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $7, 300, for the study of Bill C-32, be adopted.


Neil E. Collishaw, Sam McKibbon, Melodie Tilson and Rob Cunningham made opening statements and answered questions.


At 5:27 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:28 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/10/21 9:28 a.m.