Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, June 2, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: France Bonsant for Luc Malo, Carol Hughes for Judy Wasylycia-Leis and Daniel Petit for Colin Carrie.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Environmental Law Association: Kathleen Cooper, Senior Researcher. Canadian Health Coalition: Michael McBane, Coordinator. David Suzuki Foundation: Lisa Gue, Environmental Health Policy Analyst. Consumer Health Products Canada: David Skinner, President; Gerry Harrington, Director, Public Affairs. Canada Safety Council: Emile J. Therien, Past President. Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Corinne Pohlmann, Vice-President, National Affairs. Consumer Product Safety Coalition: Ralph Suppa, President, Canadian Institute of Plumbing and Heating; Keith Mussar, Chair, Food Committee, Canadian Association of Importers and Exporters. Consumers' Association of Canada: Mel Fruitman, Vice-President. United Steelworkers: Andrew King, Department Leader, Health, Safety and Environment.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 30, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-6, An Act respecting the safety of consumer products.

Kathleen Cooper, Michael McBane, Lisa Gue and David Skinner made opening statements and, with Gerry Harrington, answered questions.


At 5:13 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Emile J. Therien, Corinne Pohlmann, Ralph Suppa, Mel Fruitman and Andrew King made opening statements and, with Keith Mussar, answered questions.


At 7:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:16 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 7:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/03 8:49 a.m.