Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Tuesday, May 12, 2009

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joy Smith, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Colin Carrie, Patricia Davidson, Nicolas Dufour, Kirsty Duncan, Luc Malo, Cathy McLeod, Joyce Murray, Joy Smith, Tim Uppal and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Associate Members present: Carol Hughes.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Karin Phillips, Analyst.


Witnesses: Hazardous Materials Information Review Commission: Sharon Watts, President and Chief Executive Officer. Assisted Human Reproduction Canada: Elinor Wilson, President and Chief Executive Officer; Margaret Strysio, Executive Director, Planning, Communications and Outreach. Patented Medicine Prices Review Board: Brien Benoit, Chairperson; Barbara Ouellet, Executive Director. Canadian Institutes of Health Research: Karl Tibelius, Director, Targeted Initiatives, Research Portfolio; James Roberge, Chief Financial Officer, Vice-President, Resource Planning and Management.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2009-2010: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45 and 50 under HEALTH referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 26, 2009.

Sharon Watts, Elinor Wilson and Brien Benoit made opening statements and, with James Roberge and Karl Tibelius answered questions.


At 5:13 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:15 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee meetings of May 28, 2009 and June 2, 2009 be extended to 7:30 p.m. for the study of Bill C-6, An Act respecting the safety of consumer products.


At 5:27 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/14 9:16 a.m.