Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 55
Monday, October 26, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Roger Gaudet for Robert Carrier and Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum.


Associate Members present: Dean Del Mastro.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Public Works Association: Gary Losier, President. Canadian Museums Association: John G. McAvity, Executive Director. Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants: Bruce Flexman, Chair, Tax Policy Committee; Elly Meister, Director, Government Relations, Communications and External Relations. Canadian Library Association: Kelly Moore, Executive Director; Jan Harder, Executive Council Member. Canadian Home Builders' Association: Gary Friend, President; John Kenward, Chief Operating Officer. Canadian Bankers Association: Terry Campbell, Vice-President, Policy; Darren Hannah, Acting Vice-President, Banking Operations. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Armine Yalnizyan, Senior Economist. ParticipACTION: Kelly Murumets, President and Chief Executive Officer; Donovan Bailey, Director, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bailey Inc. Canadian Artists' Representation: April Britski, Executive Director; Mario Villeneuve, National President. Canadian Association for Community Living: Anna MacQuarrie, Director, Policy and Programs. Canadian Automobile Dealers Association: Huw Williams, Director, Public Affairs. Boys and Girls Clubs of Canada: Sandra Schwartz, Public Policy Advisor; Marlene Deboisbriand, Vice-President, Member Services. Clean Air Renewable Energy Coalition: Mark Rudolph, Coordinator; Timothy Weis, Representative, Pembina Institute. Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada: Nicholas Gazzard, Executive Director, National Office. BIOTECanada: Rainer Engelhardt, Past Chair; Cate McCready, Vice-President, External Affairs. Railway Association of Canada: Cliff Mackay, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Gary Losier, John G. McAvity, Bruce Flexman, Kelly Moore, Jan Harder, Gary Friend, John Kenward, Terry Campbell, Armine Yalnizyan and Kelly Murumets made statements and, with Darren Hannah and Donovan Bailey, answered questions.


At 5:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.


April Britski, Anna Macquarrie, Huw Williams, Marlene Deboisbriand, Mark Rudolph, Timothy Weis, Nicholas Gazzard, Rainer Engelhardt and Cliff Mackay made statements and, with Mario Villeneuve and Sandra Schwartz, answered questions.


At 6:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:48 p.m.