Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 40th Parliament   2e session, 40e législature

Standing Committee on Finance   Comité permanent des finances
Meeting No. 54 Séance no 54
Thursday, October 22, 2009 Le jeudi 22 octobre 2009
9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 9 h 30 à 16 h 30
Toronto, Ont.   Toronto, Ont.
Intercontinental Toronto Centre   Intercontinental Toronto Centre
Ballroom B   Salle de bal B
225 Front St. West   225, rue Front Ouest
(416-597-1400)   (416-597-1400)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Pre-budget Consultations 2009 Consultations prébudgétaires 2009
Witnesses Témoins
9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. 9 h 30 à 11 heures
Canadian Health Food Association Association canadienne des aliments de santé
Penelope Marrett, President and Chief Executive Officer
 Penelope Marrett, présidente et chef de la direction
McMaster University Université McMaster
Mo Elbestawi, Vice-President
Research and International Affairs
 Mo Elbestawi, vice-président
Recherche et affaires international
Peter George, President and Vice-Chancellor Peter George, président et vice-chancelier
Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce
Art Sinclair, Vice-President Art Sinclair, vice-président
Canadian Media Guild Guilde canadienne des médias
Lise Lareau, President Lise Lareau, présidente
As an individual À titre personnel
Chris Smith Chris Smith
Canadian Federation of Students (Ontario) Fédération canadienne des étudiantes et étudiants (Ontario)
Shelley Melanson, Chairperson Shelley Melanson, présidente
Nora Loreto, Communications Coordinator Nora Loreto, Coordinatrice des communications
Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians Alliance pour l'égalité des personnes aveugles du Canada
John Rae, First Vice-President
National Board of Directors
 John Rae, premier vice-président
Bureau national de direction
GrowthWorks Capital Ltd. GrowthWorks Capital ltée
Murray Munro, Senior Vice-President
National Sales, Marketing and Government Relations
 Murray Munro, premier vice-président
Ventes nationales, commercialisation et relations gouvernementales
11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. 11 heures à 12 h 30
Investment Industry Association of Canada Association canadienne du commerce des valeurs mobilières
Ian Russell, President and Chief Executive Officer Ian Russell, président et chef de la direction
As an individual À titre personnel
Andrew Frew Andrew Frew
Council of Ontario Universities Conseil des universités de l'Ontario
Bonnie Patterson, Interim President Bonnie Patterson, présidente intérimaire
Ontario College of Art and Design Ontario College of Art and Design
Sara Diamond, President Sara Diamond, présidente
City of Toronto Ville de Toronto
Shelley Carroll, City Councillor and Chair of the Budget Committee Shelley Carroll, conseillère municipale et présidente du Comité du Budget
Centre for Image-Guided Innovation and Therapeutic Intervention Centre for Image-Guided Innovation and Therapeutic Intervention
Peter Kim, Lead Peter Kim, chef
Thomas Looi, Program Director Thomas Looi, directeur de programme
National Angel Capital Organization National Angel Capital Organization
Andrew Wilkes, Chairman
Board of Directors
 Andrew Wilkes, président
Conseil d'administration
David Pamenter, Business Law Partner
Growling Lafleur Henderson LLP
 David Pamenter, associé en droit commercial
Growling Lafleur Henderson LLP
Direct Sellers Association of Canada Association de ventes directes du Canada
Ross Creber, President Ross Creber, président
Jack W. Millar, Tax Advisor
Millar Kreklewetz LLP
 Jack W. Millar, conseiller en fiscalité
Millar Kreklewetz LLP
1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. 13 h 30 à 15 heures
Toronto Board of Trade Toronto Board of Trade
Richard Joy, Vice-President
Policy and Government Relations
 Richard Joy, vice-président
Politiques et relations gouvernementales
Carol Wilding, President and Chief Executive Officer Carol Wilding, président et directeur général
Holcim Canada Inc.  Holcim Canada inc.
Bill Galloway, Senior Vice-President
Government Affairs
 Bill Galloway, premier vice-président
Affaires gouvernementales
Angela Burton, Vice-Présidente
Communications and Public Affairs
 Angela Burton, vice-Présidente
Communications et relations publiques
Economics of Technology Working Group Economics of Technology Working Group
Michael Rosenberg, President Michael Rosenberg, président
Tax Executives Institute Institut des cadres fiscalistes
Sherrie Ann Pollock, Vice-President
Canadian Affairs
 Sherrie Ann Pollock, vice-présidente
Dossiers canadiens
David Penney, Secretary David Penney, secrétaire
As an individual À titre personnel
Dalton MacDonald Dalton MacDonald
Woodcliffe Corporation Woodcliffe Corporation
Paul Oberman, President and Chief Executive Officer Paul Oberman, président et chef de la direction
Jane Hargraft, General Manager
Opera Atelier
 Jane Hargraft, directeur général
Opera Atelier
David Ferguson, Chair of the Board of Directors
Canadian Opera Company
 David Ferguson, président du conseil d'administration
Canadian Opera Company
3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. 15 heures à 16 h 30
Canadian Retail Building Supply Council Canadian Retail Building Supply Council
David Campbell, Chair David Campbell, président
Canadian Network of Dance Presenters CanDance CanDanse Réseau canadien des diffiseurs de danse
Jeanne Holmes, Board Chair Jeanne Holmes, présidente du conseil
Mimi Beck, Executive Director Mimi Beck, directrice executive
Professional Writers Association of Canada Professional Writers Association of Canada
Tanya Gulliver, President Tanya Gulliver, présidente
Investment Funds Institute of Canada Institut des fonds d'investissement du Canada
Debbie Pearl-Weinberg, General Tax Counsel
Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
 Debbie Pearl-Weinberg, avocate générale de l'impôt
Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce
John Parker, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer John Parker, vice-président et chef de la direction financière
University of Toronto Université de Toronto
Judith Wolfson, Vice-President
University Relations
 Judith Wolfson, vice-présidente
Relations universitaires
Marny Scully, Executive Director
Policy and Analysis, Office of Government, Institutional and Community Relations
 Marny Scully, directrice générale
Politique et analyse, bureau du gouvernement, relations institutionnelles et communautaires
Green Vehicle Exchange Program Green Vehicle Exchange Program
Fraser J. Young, Executive Director Fraser J. Young, directeur exécutif
Upper Lakes Marine and Industrial Inc. Upper Lakes Marine and Industrial inc.
John Dewar, Vice-President
Strategic Services
 John Dewar, vice-président
Services stratégiques
Les greffiers du Comité
Travis Ladouceur (613-992-9753)
Jean-François Pagé (613-992-9753)
Clerks of the Committee
2009/10/21 9:43 a.m.   2009/10/21 9 h 43