Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 54
Thursday, October 22, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:30 a.m. this day, in the Ballroom B, Intercontinental Toronto Centre, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Ted Menzies, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst; John Bulmer, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Canadian Health Food Association: Penelope Marrett, President and Chief Executive Officer, Operations. McMaster University: Mo Elbestawi, Vice-President, Research and International Affairs; Peter George, President and Vice-Chancellor. Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce: Art Sinclair, Vice-President. Canadian Media Guild: Lise Lareau, President. As an individual: Chris Smith. Canadian Federation of Students (Ontario): Shelley Melanson, Chairperson; Joel Duff, Organiser. Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians: John Rae, First Vice-President, National Board of Directors. GrowthWorks Capital Ltd.: Daniel Levi, President and Chief Executive Officer. Investment Industry Association of Canada: Ian Russell, President and Chief Executive Officer. As an individual: Andrew Frew. Council of Ontario Universities: Bonnie Patterson, Interim President. Ontario College of Art and Design: Sara Diamond, President. City of Toronto: Shelley Carroll, City Councillor and Chair of the Budget Committee. Centre for Image-Guided Innovation and Therapeutic Intervention: Peter Kim, Lead; Thomas Looi, Program Director. National Angel Capital Organization: Andrew Wilkes, Chairman, Board of Directors. Direct Sellers Association of Canada: Ross Creber, President; Jack W. Millar, Tax Advisor, Millar Kreklewetz LLP. Toronto Board of Trade: Carol Wilding, President and Chief Executive Officer; Brian Zeiler-Kligman, Director, Policy. Holcim Canada Inc. : Bill Galloway, Senior Vice-President, Government Affairs; Angela Burton, Vice-Présidente, Communications and Public Affairs. Economics of Technology Working Group: Michael Rosenberg, President. Tax Executives Institute: Sherrie Ann Pollock, Vice-President , Canadian Affairs; David Penney, Secretary. Woodcliffe Corporation: Paul Oberman, President and Chief Executive Officer. Jane Hargraft, General Manager, Opera Atelier; David Ferguson, Chair of the Board of Directors, Canadian Opera Company. Canadian Retail Building Supply Council: David Campbell, Chair, Government Relations Committee. Canadian Network of Dance Presenters CanDance: Jeanne Holmes, Board Chair. Professional Writers Association of Canada: Tanya Gulliver, President. Investment Funds Institute of Canada: Debbie Pearl-Weinberg, Chair, Taxation Working Group; John Parker, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer. University of Toronto: Judith Wolfson, Vice-President, University Relations; Marny Scully, Executive Director, Policy and Analysis, Office of Government, Institutional and Community Relations. Green Vehicle Exchange Program: Fraser J. Young, Executive Director. Upper Lakes Marine and Industrial Inc.: John Dewar, Vice-President, Strategic Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Penelope Marrett, Mo Elbestawi, Peter George, Art Sinclair, Lise Lareau, Chris Smith, Shelley Melanson, Joel Duff, John Rae and Daniel Levi made statements and answered questions.


At 11:08 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:16 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Ian Russell, Andrew Frew, Bonnie Patterson, Sara Diamond, Shelley Carroll, Peter Kim, Andrew Wilkes and Ross Creber, made statements and, with Thomas Looi and Jack W. Millar, answered questions.


At 12:43 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 1:33 p.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


Carol Wilding, Bill Galloway, Michael Rosenberg, Sherrie Ann Pollock, Paul Oberman, Jane Hargraft and David Ferguson made statements and, with Brian Zeiler-Kligman and David Penney, answered questions.


At 2:05 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 3:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.


David Campbell, Jeanne Holmes, Tanya Gulliver, Debbie Pearl-Weinberg, Judith Wolfson, Fraser J. Young and John Dewar made statements and, with Marny Scully, answered questions.


At 4:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:46 p.m.