Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 53
Wednesday, October 21, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:32 a.m. this day, in the Ballroom B, Intercontinental Toronto Centre, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Chief Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst; John Bulmer, Analyst. House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: College Student Alliance: Tyler Charlebois, Director of Advocacy. Canadian Dance Assembly: Shannon Litzenberger, Executive Director. Residential and Civil Construction Alliance of Ontario: Andy Manahan, Executive Director. Employers' Coalition for Advanced Skills: Paul Charette, Chairman, Bird Construction; Pamela Fralick, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Healthcare Association. Colleges Ontario: Linda Franklin, President and Chief Executive Officer; Bill Summers, Vice-President, Research and Policy. Professional Association of Canadian Theatres: Lucy White, Executive Director. Ontario Coalition for Social Justice: John Argue, Coordinator. National Council of Welfare: Sheila Regehr, Director; Mark Chamberlain, Member. Canadian Institute of Actuaries: Robert Howard, President. Wellesley Institute: Michael Shapcott, Director, Affordable Housing and Social Innovation; Nimira Lalani, Research Associate. Canadian Association of Physicists: Robert Mann, President; Dominic Ryan, President, Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering. Association of International Automobile Manufacturers of Canada: David Adams, President. Canadian Association of Income Funds: Peter Carayiannis, Director, Legal and Government Relations. Hoffmann-La Roche Limited: Jim Hall, Vice-President, Sales and Marketing. Mohawk College of Applied Arts and Technology: Ronald Holgerson, Vice-President, Advancement and Public Affairs. Writers' Union of Canada: Deborah A. Windsor, Executive Director. March of Dimes Canada: Steven Christianson, Manager, Government Relations and Advocacy; Janet MacMaster, Assistant, Government Relations. Police Association of Ontario: Larry Molyneaux, President; Ronald Middel, Chief Administrative Officer. Ontario Federation of Labour: Wayne Samuelson, President; Sheila Block, Research Director. Canadian Business Press: Bruce Creighton, Director. Ontario Municipal Social Services Association: Janet Menard, Board Member, Commissioner of Human Services for the Regional Municipality of Peel; Etan Diamond, Manager, Policy and Research. Canadian Paraplegic Association: Bruce Drewett, President; William Adair, Executive Director. As an individual: Richard St. Denis. VON Canada (Victorian Order of Nurses): Judith Shamian, President and Chief Executive Officer. Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario: Doris Grinspun, Executive Director. Canadian National Institute for the Blind: Christopher McLean, Director, Government Relations. Social Innovation Generation : Allyson Hewitt, Director, Social Entrepreneurship.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Tyler Charlebois, Shannon Litzenberger, Andy Manahan, Paul Charette, Pamela Fralick, Linda Franklin and Lucy White, made statements and answered questions.


At 10:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:06 a.m., the sitting resumed.


John Argue, Mark Chamberlain, Robert Howard, Michael Shapcott, Nimira Lalani, Robert Mann, Dominic Ryan, David Adams, Peter Carayiannis and Jim Hall made statements and answered questions.


At 12:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 1:31 p.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


Ronald Holgerson, Deborah A. Windsor, Steven Christianson, Larry Molyneaux, Wayne Samuelson and Janet Menard, made statements and answered questions.


At 2:05 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 2:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Bruce Drewett, William Adair, Richard St. Denis. Judith Shamian, Doris Grinspun, Christopher McLean and Allyson Hewitt, made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 4:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/16 2:46 p.m.