Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 47
Monday, October 5, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:58 a.m. this day, in the Empire room, Lakeview Loyalist Resort, Summerside, Prince Edward Island, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Massimo Pacetti and James Rajotte.


Acting Members present: Nicolas Dufour for Jean-Yves Laforest and Megan Anissa Leslie for Thomas J. Mulcair.


Associate Members present: Mike Allen.


Other Members present: Hon. Wayne Easter.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Bulmer, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada: Jody Dallaire, Chairperson. Canadian Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators: Shelley Clayton, Past President. Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Basil Stewart, President; Gabriel Miller, Director; Brock Carlton, Chief Executive Officer. New Brunswick Federation of Labour: Michel Boudreau, President; Tom MacNamara, National Representative, Communication, Energy and Paperworks Union of Canada. Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters - New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island: David Plante, Vice-President; Allison Walker, Chair, Tax Group. Canadian Council of Archives: Fred Farrell, Past Chair; Christina Nichols, Executive Director. Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture: Ernie Mutch, President; Mike Nabuurs, Executive Director. Prince Edward Island Road Builders and Heavy Construction Association: Joseph Murphy, Manager; Rick Kennedy, Representative. Association des radios communautaires de l'Atlantique: Martin Théberge, President; Nay Saade, Executive Director, Coopérative Radio-Halifax-Métro ltée. Atlantic Provinces Community College Consortium: Ken MacRae, Executive Director; Brian McMillan, President, Holland College. Native Council of Prince Edward Island: Jamie Gallant, President and Chief; Jayne Tremere, Director, Finance and Human Resources. Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nation Chiefs Secretariat: Noah Augustine, Metepenagiag First Nation; Lawrence Paul, Millbrook First Nation. Halifax Regional Municipality: Dan English, Chief Administrative Officer. Every Woman's Centre: Louise Smith-MacDonald, Director. MacKillop Centre for Social Justice: Mary Boyd, Coordinator.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Jody Dallaire, Shelley Clayton, Basil Stewart, Michel Boudreau, David Plante, Fred Farrell and Ernie Mutch made statements and, with Gabriel Miller, Brock Carlton, Tom MacNamara, Allison Walker, Christina Nichols and Mike Nabuurs, answered questions.


At 10:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:35 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Joseph Murphy, Martin Théberge, Ken MacRae, Jamie Gallant, Chief Noah Augustine, Dan English, Louise Smith-MacDonald and Mary Boyd made statements and, with Rick Kennedy, Nay Saade, Brian McMillan, Jayne Tremere and Chief Lawrence Paul, answered questions.


At 12:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/05 11:05 a.m.