Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 42
Thursday, September 17, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:03 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Kelly Block for Hon. Maxime Bernier and Jean-Yves Roy for Robert Carrier.


Associate Members present: Shelly Glover.


In attendance: House of Commons: Travis Ladouceur, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO, Canadian Office: Robert Blakely, Director, Canadian Affairs. Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Laurent Pellerin, President. Quality Urban Energy Systems of Tomorrow: Kenneth Ogilvie, Former Executive Director, Pollution Probe; Shahrzad Rahbar, Vice-Chair. Citizens for Public Justice: Chandra Pasma, Policy Analyst. Vanier Institute of the Family: Clarence Lochhead, Executive Director. Imperial Tobacco Canada Limited: John Clayton, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs. Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences: Noreen Golfman, President. Canadian Paediatric Society: Marie Adèle Davis, Executive Director; Gary Pekeles, Past President. RESULTS Canada: Chris Dendys, Executive Director. Canadian Conference of the Arts: Alain Pineau, National Director. Option consommateurs: Anu Bose, Head, Ottawa Office; Geneviève Reed, Head, Research and Representation Department. Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists: Ferne Downey, National President; Stephen Waddell, National Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2009.

Robert Blakely, Laurent Pellerin, Kenneth Ogilvie, Chandra Pasma and John Clayton made statements and, with Shahrzad Rahbar, answered questions.


At 9:45 a.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 10:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:26 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Noreen Golfman, Alain Pineau, Anu Bose, Geneviève Reed, Ferne Downey, Stephen Waddell and Clarence Lochhead made statements and answered questions.


At 11:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/05 11:01 a.m.