Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 27
Tuesday, May 12, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met jointly with the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, James Rajotte, Chair of the Standing Committee on Finance, and Michael D. Chong, Chair of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Hon. Dan McTeague for Hon. John McKay.


Associate Members present: Terence Young.


Members of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology present: Robert Bouchard, Gord Brown, Hon. Michael D. Chong, Siobhan Coady, Marc Garneau, Mike Lake, Anthony Rota, Dave Van Kesteren, Robert Vincent, Mike Wallace and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Glenn Thibeault for Brian Masse.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Justin Taylor, Vice-President, Labour and taxation; Brenda O'Reilly, Chairman of the Board of Directors. Québec Hotel Association: Danielle Chayer, Vice-President and Chief Executive officer; Louis-Robert Handfield, Member. Retail Council of Canada: Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors: David Wilkes, Senior Vice-President, Trade and Business Development. Coalition québécoise sur les hausses de frais de transaction de carte de crédit et de débit: Gaston Lafleur, Spokesperson and President of the Conseil québécois du commerce de détail; Pierre-Alexandre Blouin, Public Affairs Director , Association des détaillants en alimentation du Québec. Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Catherine Swift, President and Chief Executive Officer; Corinne Pohlmann, Vice-President, National Affairs.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 2, 2009, the Committee commenced its study of credit card interchange fees and the debit payment system in Canada.

On motion of Mike Wallace, it was agreed, — That, notwithstanding any routine motion or Standing Order, at joint meetings of the Standing Committee on Finance and the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, the Chair shall not receive any substantive motions or dilatory motions.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 6:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/15 11:17 a.m.