Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Tuesday, May 5, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:00 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum, Martha Hall Findlay for Massimo Pacetti and Carol Hughes for Thomas J. Mulcair.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canada Revenue Agency: Wayne Adams, Director General, Income Tax Rulings Directorate, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch; William V. Baker, Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer; James Ralston, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch; Filipe Dinis, Acting Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch. Department of Finance: Sherry Harrison, Executive Director, Corporate Services Branch; Paul Rochon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch; Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Alfred LeBlanc, Director, Federal - Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch; Brian Ernewein, General Director, Tax Policy Branch; Jim Haley, General Director, International Trade and Finance Branch; Richard Botham, Director, Microeconomic Policy Analysis, Economic Development and Corporate Finance; Alan Freeman, Assistant Deputy Minister, Consultations and Communications Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2009-2010: Vote 1 under CANADA REVENUE AGENCY and Votes 1, 5 and L10 under FINANCE referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 26, 2009.

William V. Baker, Wayne Adams and Sherry Harrison made statements and, with James Ralston, Filipe Dinis, Paul Rochon, Jeremy Rudin, Alfred LaBlanc, Brian Ernwein, Jim Haley, Richard Botham and Alan Freeman, answered questions.


It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $ 29 821, for the Committee’s travel to Washington, DC on June 3 to 5, 2009, be adopted and that the Chair present the said budget to the Liaison Committee.


At 11:04 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/07 2:23 p.m.