Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 21
Thursday, April 23, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Daryl Kramp, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Kelly Block for Ted Menzies and Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum.


Other Members present: Wayne Marston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Public Sector Pension Investment Board: John Valentini, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer; Pierre Malo, First Vice President, Asset Allocation Strategies and Research. Pension Investment Association of Canada: Barbara Miazga, Secretary-Treasurer. Teamsters Canada: Phil Benson, Lobbyist. As an individual: Diane Urquhart, Independent Analyst. United Senior Citizens of Ontario: Marie Smith, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 5, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on measures to enhance credit availability and the stability of the Canadian financial system.

John Valentini, Barbara Miazga, Phil Benson, Diane Urquhart and Marie Smith made statements and, with Pierre Malo, answered questions.


At 10:25 a.m., Massimo Pacetti took the Chair.


At 10:35 a.m. James Rajotte took the Chair.


It was agreed, — That the Committee hold four joint meetings with the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology to study the fees charged to merchants and consumers for the use of credit and debit cards.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure of the Standing Committee on Finance hold a joint meeting with the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure of the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology to arrange these four joint meetings.


At 11:01 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/14 11:06 a.m.