Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Tuesday, March 24, 2009

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maxime Bernier, Robert Carrier, Bob Dechert, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, James Rajotte and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Dean Del Mastro for Daryl Kramp and Martha Hall Findlay for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Foundation for Economic Education: Gary Rabbior, President. Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation: Pierre Serré, Vice-President, Insurance Product and Business Development; Mark Chamie, Treasurer. As an individual: Ian Lee, MBA Program Director, Sprott School of Business, Carleton University. Option consommateurs: Michel Arnold, Executive Director; Anu Bose, Head, Ottawa Office.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 5, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on measures to enhance credit availability and the stability of the Canadian financial system.

Gary Rabbior, Pierre Serré, Ian Lee and Michel Arnold made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2009/05/14 11:04 a.m.