Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Tuesday, December 1, 2009

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Lois Brown, Johanne Deschamps, Peter Goldring, Francine Lalonde, James Lunney, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry, Hon. Bob Rae and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Wayne Marston for Paul Dewar and Hon. John McKay for Glen Douglas Pearson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; James Lee, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Grant Manuge, Director General, Trade Commissioner Services, Operations; Sabine Nölke, Director, United Nations, Human Rights and Economic Law Division; James Lambert, Director General, Latin America and Caribbean; Sara Wilshaw, Director, Trade Commissioner Service Support. Alternatives Canada: Catherine Duhamel, Lawyer, International Human Rights Law.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 22, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-300, An Act respecting Corporate Accountability for the Activities of Mining, Oil or Gas in Developing Countries.

Grant Manuge made a statement and, with Sabine Nölke and James Lambert, answered questions.


At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Catherine Duhamel made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:26 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/15 3:46 p.m.