Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 41
Tuesday, November 24, 2009

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met by videoconference at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 214, Wellington Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Lois Brown, Johanne Deschamps, Paul Dewar, Peter Goldring, Francine Lalonde, James Lunney, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry, Hon. Bob Rae and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Hon. John McKay for Glen Douglas Pearson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee; Allison Goody.


Witnesses: Office of the Extractive Sector Corporate Social Responsibility Counsellor: Marketa D. Evans. Center for Human Rights and Environment: Romina Picolotti. Entraide Missionnaire Inc.: Denis Tougas, Table de concertation sur la région des Grands Lacs africains.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 22, 2009, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-300, An Act respecting Corporate Accountability for the Activities of Mining, Oil or Gas in Developing Countries.

Francine Lalonde moved, — That the witnesses appearing before the Committee on this day be invited to sit together at the table in order to make their opening statements and answer questions from members of the Committee.


The question was put on the motion and it was negatived.


Romina Picolotti, by videoconference from Córdoba, Argentina, and Denis Tougas made statements and answered questions.


At 10:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:05 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Marketa D. Evans made a statement and answered questions.


On motion of Jim Abbott, it was agreed, — That the Committee do now adjourn.


At 10:58 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2010/09/23 2:29 p.m.