Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Monday, May 25, 2009

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Lois Brown, Johanne Deschamps, Paul Dewar, James Lunney, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry, Glen Douglas Pearson, Hon. Bob Rae and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Jean-Yves Laforest for Paul Crête, Francine Lalonde for Paul Crête, Andrew Saxton for Deepak Obhrai and Dave Van Kesteren for Peter Goldring.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Melissa Radford, Analyst; Robert Dufresne, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Greta Bossenmaier, Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs; Bruce Hirst, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer. House of Commons: Hon. John McKay, Scarborough—Guildwood.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, April 22, 2009, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-300, An Act respecting Corporate Accountability for the Activities of Mining, Oil or Gas in Developing Countries.

Honourable John McKay made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2009-2010: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 25, 30, L35, 40 and 45 under Foreign Affairs and International Trade referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 26, 2009.

Honourable Lawrence Cannon made a statement and, with Bruce Hirst and Greta Bossenmaier, answered questions.


At 5:13 p.m., Bernard Patry took the Chair.


At 5:17 p.m., Kevin Sorenson took the Chair.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/25 9:02 a.m.