Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Wednesday, April 1, 2009

The Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics met at 3:41 p.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Paul Szabo, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Kelly Block, Bob Dechert, Earl Dreeshen, Russ Hiebert, Pierre Poilievre, Bill Siksay, Michelle Simson, Paul Szabo and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac.


Acting Members present: Serge Ménard for Carole Freeman and Massimo Pacetti for Borys Wrzesnewskyj.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alysia Davies, Analyst; Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst.


Witnesses: BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association: Vincent Gogolek, Director, Policy and Privacy. As an individual: Ken Rubin.

Pursuant to Standing Orders 108(2) and 108(3)(h)(iv), Special Report of the Information Commissioner entitled "Report Cards 2007-2008 and Systemic Issues Affecting Access to Information in Canada" referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 26, 2009, and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, March 4, 2009, the Committee resumed its study on the Access to Information Act Reform.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the motion from Pierre Poilievre on surveillance cameras be included in the agenda of the meeting on Monday, April 20, 2009.


At 5:38 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jacques Maziade
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/13 10:31 a.m.