Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Thursday, March 5, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 214, Wellington Building, the Vice-Chair, Francis Scarpaleggia, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Brian Jean for James Bezan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Natural Resources: Kim Kasperski, Manager, Water Management; Kevin Stringer, Director General, Petroleum Resources Branch. Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency: Steve Burgess, Executive Director, Project Reviews; Steve Chapman, Acting Associate Director West, Project Reviews. Department of Fisheries and Oceans: Ginny Flood, National Director, Environmental Assessments and Major Projects, Oceans and Habitat Sector; Ian Matheson, Director General, Habitat Management Directorate.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 10, 2009, the Committee commenced its study of the Oil Sands and Canada's Water Resources.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


On motion of Jeff Watson, it was agreed, — That the Committee do now adjourn.


At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2009/03/31 11:12 a.m.